General Convention

The General Convention
of The Episcopal Church

The General Convention is the governing body of The Episcopal Church. Every three years it meets as a bicameral legislature that includes the House of Deputies and the House of Bishops, composed of deputies and bishops from each diocese. The General Convention also includes Interim Bodies which meet between the triennial sessions to accomplish ongoing work and tasks set in the triennial sessions. The last session of the General Convention was in Salt Lake City, Utah in 2015.

The 79th General Convention will be in Austin Texas, July 5th – 13th, 2018

News and Announcements

Nominee application – in English

The Joint Standing Committee for Nominations Announces that the application for nominees for the 79th General Convention is now open. Click one of the above links for further information.

Constitution and Canons 2015

For information and links to the Constitution and Canons 2015, please see the publications page.

Can’t find what you are looking for?
Type in key words to find what you are looking for in the diocese.